Hair Care part 2 : Shampoo & Conditioner according to Hair Type

HAIR CARE


I didn’t mean to scare anyone with yesterday’s post, about  Sodium Lauryl Sulfate and
Sodium Laureth Sulfate.     https://lovelylonelyhearts.wordpress.com/2012/05/24/hair-care-part1/

I already did more research, they are foaming cleansers that lift away dirt and oil from  your hair .  It’s just a detergent and on shampoos and soaps is used on low quantities (as opposed to industrial soaps for factories)

When added to your average shampoo, the concentration is much less than industrial cleaners.

so NOTHING TO WORRY ABOUT !!!!!!!😀

____________________________

I know how stressing it is when you don’t  find shampoo and conditioner that doesn’t adapt to your hair type !!!😦

There are a lot of brands out there that promise to make your Curly Hair all bouncy and pretty, your Straight Hair  like you just iron-straighten it , your Wavy Hair like a normal day on the beach…. IT’S ALL LIES !!! 

Most products DON’T deliver what they promised and on top of that SUPER EXPENSIVE !

Here are some of my personal (and friend’s ) picks for your Hair Type :

CURLY HAIR :

I know this, I have SUPER EXTREME CURLY hair  and it’s hard to find a proper shampoo and conditioner that won’t tangle it and make it look like a mess. Luckily I found some good options :

Redken : Fresh Curls

 

There is NO other product so perfect for curls than THIS !! (this and Kérastase Bain Oleo Curl, posted below😉 )

After years of straightening and damaging my hair, a few months ago I decided I wanted my curls back! So I bought these and with in 3 days-time my curls were back !!! (so excited😀 )

It has a lightweight formula,  leaves hair shiny, manageable, and soft.

Defines unruly curls, it brings back the shape of the curls.

These  can be found on department stores in your city (in Monterrey I found them on some HEB stores)  and in some hair salons, YES they are a “tad” expensive, but that’s the price I have to pay for denying my natural hair😦

Who: anyone with curly to unruly and damaged hair

When: skip shampooing 1 or 2 days. Conditioner, daily.

 Key Ingredients: 

  • Elastapol – Spring Activation & Frizz Control
  • Coconut Oil – Moisture
  • Oleo-amido – Repair & Resurface
  • Protein – Strength
Mixed Silk by Silked Elements
This is formulated for natural curls
It leaves curls bouncy and shiny !
It contains Panthenol and Avocado Oil, which ( in my opinion) are key ingredients for healthy-looking curly hair.

These  are  sold worldwide at the SALLY stores around your town, at accessible prices !!!

http://www.sallybeauty.com/

Who: anyone with natural wavy or curly hair.
When:  skip shampooing 1 or 2 days. Conditioner, daily.
Key Ingredients: Avocado Oil and Panthenol.
Kérastase: Bain Oleo Curl
These is THE ULTIMATE CURLY HAIR SAVER ! (this and Redken Fresh Curls)
6 years ago, my hair was a complete mess!
 It wasn’t curly or wavy, it was just a horrible looking thing, HORRIBLE ! (thanks to my flat-iron, whom I love still😦 )
 I needed something for my curly hair to look shiny and feel soft  !   (after buying these, I changed to John Frieda’s Radiant Red, to keep my red hair vibrant😉 )
  1. I completely love the smell !❤
  2. It detangled my hair, made it soft, shiny and my curls so defined!
  3. It also controls frizzy curls.
 These are only found on some hair salons, VERY EXPENSIVE ! ( my mom only bought them to me twice😦 )
 Who: anyone with wavy, curly to unruly curly hair.
When: I used them daily ( because of the smell, hahah) but skip shampooing 1 or 2 days. Conditioner, daily.
Key Ingredients :  Shorea and Palm Oils to restore suppleness, softness and detangling ease.
  

 Pantene: Rizos Definidos (Curly Hair Line in the U.S.)

 

Personally, I’m not a big fan of Pantene ( I once bought their red hair line “Red Expressions” and made my hair look like a mess😦  … )

But since my sister Amelia and I have very curly hair, she bought this and I tried it once ( hope she doesn’t get angry for me taking her hair products …  O_o )  and made my curls more defined.

So I completeley recommend it !!!

These are sold worlwide and can be found on any department store in your city !! Super cheap!!😀

Who: anyone from curly to very unruly curly hair.

When: I recommend skip shampooing 1 day, conditioner daily !

Key Ingredients: Amino Silicones, that are used as a “protective shield” and makes hair shiny and soft🙂

________________________

STRAIGHT HAIR :

Sometimes I feel so jealous of girls with perfect-looking straight hair !!

But for some girls, that’s a difficult look to pull off, some look like brooms hahaha..

Here are some options to avoid that :

Redken : Real Control

This (to me and a friend ) is the BEST shampoo and conditioner to control straight hair (any type of hair really)

I bought the conditioner last August and I still have some left (it was a 1000ml, big bottle) and I use it every now an then , whenever I want to use the flat iron, and it leaves my hair SUPER STRAIGHT , SOFT and SHINY ( yes, me with the unruly curled hair! ) imagine what will do to you with natural straight hair !!!!😀

It gently cleanses and provides even more moisture and control for dry, sensitized hair.

It only takes  two to three washes to see results.

Doesn’t leave hair feeling heavy.

These  can be found on department stores in your city (in Monterrey I found them on some HEB stores)  and in some hair salons, YES they are a “tad” expensive, but worth it !😀

Who: anyone with natural straight hair and all types of hair.

When: Daily, if you can skip shampooing 1 day. Conditioner, daily.

Key Ingredients:  

  • Cationic Conditioners – Moisture & Nourishment
  • Protein / Ceramide – Internal Strength & Repair
  • Shea Butter – Smoothing Frizz Control


Herbal Essences :Touchably Smooth (Paralísalos en México)

According to Marijo’s sister Gaby, (we completely trust in her opinion, because she was long beautiful straight hair) these work really good!

It  features balanced conditioning that keeps strands soft and shiny, for smooth hair no matter what.

Leaves hair feeling silky and smells great !!!

I recommend this line, especially if you live somewhere with tons of humidity.

These are sold worlwide and can be found on any department store in your city !! Super cheap!!😀

Who : anyone with straight or wavy hair.

When: Daily.

Key Ingredients: Pink Lily and Asian Silk.

Bed Head: Extreme Straight

                                            

I have a love/hate relationship with Bed Head products, ( I once bought the FOXY CURLS™ Contour Cream and didn’t work as I expected… then I bought MASTERPIECE™ Massive Shine Hairspray and OMG I loved it ! it holded my hair for an entire day and it looked shiny😀 )

If you want straight, smooth hair that starts in the shower go buy these!

This sulfate-free shampoo makes your hair softer and healthier looking.

These are sold worlwide and can be found on any department store in your city !! Is not cheap.. but not that expensive either, and completely worth it😀

Who: anyone with straight or wavy hair.

When: Daily, but I always recommend skip shampooing 1 or 2 days. Conditioner, daily.

Key Ingredients:

  • Glycerin : for softness and shine
  • Oat Aminoacids: hair conditioning agent.

_________________________

WAVY HAIR :

I have to admit this is my fav hair type !

Not curly, not straight:  BEST OF BOTH WORLDS😉

The best way to keep your waves, is not to use too much products, because that way the waves don’t look defined and it looks like you haven’t showered in days  O_O

Here are some good options :

Aveda: Be Curly

I love this brand!!! Whenever I go to the US  I make sure to buy something.. anything..

What I love about this brand in particular, is that it’s completely organic !!

It has flowers and plants essences.

Be Curly enhances curls and waves.

Reduces frizz and definces the waves.

It has a citrusy smell. (L)

These can be found on any department store in the US and on some HEB stores in México. They are a little pricey, but worth it  ;)

 Who: anyone with wavy hair or light curls.

When: because of the citrus ingredients I wouldn’t recommend daily use of the shampoo. Conditioner, daily.

Key Ingredients : organic Lime, Lemon, Bergamot and Orange. Wheat Protein and Organic Aloe

Herbal Essences: Tousle Me Soflty ( Albórotalos en México) 

Also a good option to keep your natural waves defined.

It leaves hair clean and fresh smelling🙂

Leaves hair soft, not hard or crispy.

 These are sold worlwide and can be found on any department store in your city !! Super cheap!!😀

Who: anyone with natural wavy hair.

When: Daily.

Key Ingredients: Wild Violet and Pomegranate.

Redken : Body Full

I recommend these if you want your waves with a little more volume🙂

It infuses fine or flat hair with 24 hours* of high-impact volume and luscious lift !

Your hair will have lasting volume, touchable fullness and weightless shine.

These  can be found on department stores in your city (in Monterrey I found them on some HEB stores)  and in some hair salons, YES they are a “tad” expensive, but worth it !😀

Who: anyone with wavy hair.

When: Daily, if you can skip shampooing 1 day. Conditioner, daily.

Key Ingredients : 

  • Wheat Extract – Plumps & Volumizes
  • Cotton – Lightweight Detangling


_____________

Hair Care , part 3 coming up..

Carmina B. 

One thought on “Hair Care part 2 : Shampoo & Conditioner according to Hair Type

Leave a Reply

